This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Great Places Awards
Share |

EDRA Great Places Awards 2020

2020 Great Places Awards home page | Submission Rules | Award Categories | Jurors | Past Winners | Download Brochure

The Environmental Design Research Association, in partnership with Project for Public Spaces, presents the 22nd Annual Great Places Awards.

The deadline for submissions has expired.


The Program

The Great Places Awards are unique among programs that honor professional and scholarly excellence in environmental design. They seek to recognize work that combines expertise in design, research, and practice, and contributes to the creation of dynamic, humane places that engage our attention and imagination.

Award-winning projects reflect an interdisciplinary approach that is enduring, human-centered, sustainable, and concerned with the experiential relationship between people and their environment (built and natural) over time.

We invite participation from a range of design and research disciplines — particularly projects whose significance extends beyond any one profession or field. All submissions should show how research and/or public participation is linked to--or part of--an environmental design practice, and vice versa. Submissions should also demonstrate how an understanding of the experience of place may be used to generate insightful design.

EDRA welcomes submissions from the full breadth of environmental design and related research fields, including architecture, landscape architecture, planning, urban design, interior design, lighting design, graphic design, place-based public art, environmental psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, and the physical sciences.

The Process

Each year we assemble a jury with diverse backgrounds in design, research, and practice. The jury evaluates how each project, no matter what the discipline, addresses the human experience of well-designed places. Special attention is paid to the transferability of research on this topic into design and planning practice. The jury will select exceptional submissions from four categories: place design, place planning, place research, and a book prize.

The jury will convene in early 2020 and awards will be announced and presented at EDRA51, which will be held in Tempe, AZ  on April 4-7, 2020 . The winning entries will be on display throughout the conference and publicized throughout the year in various print and electronic publications.

Award Categories

EDRA accepts submissions in the following categories.

  • Place Design
  • Place Planning
  • Place Research
  • Book Award

For a detailed description of each Award category and jury considerations, visit the Award categories page.

View Requirements Before Submission

Each entry must follow the specific submission requirements for its category as described, and must be submitted in English. Additional requirements can be find on the Submission Rules page.

Submissions Portal

All proposals must be submitted online.


The Partner

PPS logo

EDRA is proud to partner with Project for Public Spaces (PPS) for the 2020 Great Places Awards.

PPS is a nonprofit planning, design and educational organization dedicated to helping people create and sustain public spaces that build stronger communities. Their pioneering Placemaking approach helps citizens transform their public spaces into vital places that highlight local assets, spur rejuvenation and serve common needs.

What Makes a Great Place  


Address: 2010 Pear St. #1060 Pinole, CA 94564-9998
Phone: +1 (507) 339-4620


© 2019 | EDRA − The Environmental Design Research Association | All rights reserved.